Across South Africa 60 young instrumentalists are fine-tuning their repertoires for the 2013 SAMRO Hubert van der Spuy National Music Competition taking place from 16 to 20 September at the Hugo Lambrechts Auditorium in Parow, Cape Town.

The prestigious event celebrates its 25th anniversary.  It builds on the strong foundation laid by the Tygerberg Branch of the South African Society of Music Teachers (SASMT) since 1989 when Hubert van der Spuy, with Sanlam’s assistance, inspired the competition and afforded fledgling musicians the opportunity to compete on a national basis for the first time. The SAMRO Foundation came on board as the main sponsor in 2011 when Sanlam withdrew.

 The 60 candidates were selected after the national auditions and will compete over four rounds. Medals, prize-money totalling more than R80 000 and other attractive prizes are at stake.  

There are four categories: Piano, Strings, Woodwind & Brass Instruments, and Other Instruments (percussion, recorder, classical guitar and harp), with a sub-category for developmental groups.  The sub-category special incentive was created four years ago for developmental groups from disadvantaged communities and enables these candidates to compete on equal terms with participants from other communities.

To share in celebrating the silver jubilee, Hilda Boonzaaier, president of the SASMT: Tygerberg, invites music students in and around Cape Town, parents, tutors and the general public to attend the competition (programme below).  No entrance fees apply for the opening and the first three rounds.  Only for the final round/gala evening on Friday night a modest fee will be charged and seats have to be reserved.  Call Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre at 021 939 9105 for bookings and more information.

Full particulars are available at Alumni, adjudicators, participants, teachers as well as parents and accompanists of the competition since 1989 are also invited to attend and kindly requested to establish contact by registering on the website and share highlights of their memories.

Enquiries can be directed to Kathleen du Plessis (between 10:00 and 18:00) at 021 939 9105, or in writing to, or Hilda Boonzaaier (20:00 – 21:00) at 021 945 3861. 


The competition honours Prof. Hubert van der Spuy, founder of the competition in 1989, for his enormous contribution to music development in South Africa, inter alia at the universities of Durban-Westville and Western Cape, the SASMT and as Professor Emeritus of Music at Unisa.  


The original competition was launched by the SASMT’s Tygerberg Branch in 1989.  It provides a platform for promising young musicians to participate at national level, to gain valuable experience, to learn from each other and to be identified as promising musicians at an early stage.  It has already put a number of young musicians on the road to successful music careers and even international acclaim. 


2013 programme

Monday, 16/9: 

17:00                  Registration   

17:30                  Opening:  Winner 2012, cellist Sinéad Symons from Brackenfell, Western Cape, performs as soloist with the Hugo Lambrechts Symphony Orchestra

Tuesday, 17/9:            

08:30 – 20:30      First round (all participants)

Wednesday, 18/9:        

08:30 – 20:15      Second round (all participants)

Thursday, 19/9:

13:30 – 17:30       Third round (top 30?)

Friday, 20/9:               

19:00                   Final round / Presentations


Lists of candidates from (Gauteng: Pretoria) (Gauteng: Johannesburg) (Free State) (Western Cape) (KZN)  (Eastern Cape) are attached.