The SAMRO Foundation is proud to announce Joseph Sabongo, Fernando Joas Ladria, Bateleur , The Word N Sound company, Andre Hendrikus Stander, Motif Records, Tlale Makhene, Mokale Koapeng and Derek Gripper as recipients of the second round of the South African International Music Mobility Fund supported by the British Council.

The second round of the Mobility Fund saw a selection of nine recipients ranging from tours and concerts, collaborative projects and professional developments. The recipients’ projects will take place in Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi, Swaziland, Zimbabwe and the UK. 

 Adam Bertscher (Band Member of Bateleur) says “With the support of the SAMRO Foundation and British Council, we are able to fulfil our passion to share our music with people outside of South Africa, and to bridge the creative gaps between nations. We believe that music is a form of communication that transcends cultures and national boundaries and unites people of all diverse backgrounds. Thanks to the South African International Music Mobility Fund, we hope that ‘The Friendship Tour’ will inspire fellow South African artists to express themselves in a way that is synonymous with African unity and social cohesion”.

Just as in the first round, all the recipients conducted their own research, identified and communicated with potential partners or hosts based in the country they will work in. The partners include individuals, organisations, established musicians and music professionals.  

“The British Council is pleased to be able to support creative projects from South Africa to reach new places and people. Connecting new South African talent to the region and the world is very much what our Connect ZA project is about. We look forward to seeing how these projects help spread new stories from South Africa and support the development of new regional and international networks.” Says Tom Porter – Head of Arts British Council | Johannesburg

For more info about current and future projects by SAMRO Foundation and British Council respectively please visit: